Scarf your dinner, ladies! Hungry girls make worse financial decisions

6 Jul

Ladies, here’s a reason to chow down (that won’t make you feel guilty!): it could make you richer.   A new study finds that you make crappier economic decisions while hungry, the New York Times reports. Translation: hungry girls may make riskier financial choices.

So, if you need an excuse to scarf that cookie or inhale that last slice of pizza, this just might be it.  And I’m not gonna lie: I’ll take it!  Yes, the sample size for the study was small, and so who knows what will come of it, but in the meantime, I repeat, “I’ll take it.”

Welcome to my new, non-guilty eating phase: I’d rather be rich than thin!

xo,
Catey

3 Responses to “Scarf your dinner, ladies! Hungry girls make worse financial decisions”

  1. Suzie July 3, 2010 at 7:41 pm #

    How funny! How about for men?

  2. citygal July 14, 2010 at 10:52 pm #

    Hi Catey! Love your book and all of the fabulous tips you give! Although I’ve made a budget that I’m starting to stick to, I’m having trouble figuring out all the retirement stuff. I’m looking at my paycheck and have no idea what most of the numbers mean, so using the retirement calculator on the AARP website was frustrating! I’m turning 30 in a few months and still live paycheck-to-paycheck. I need to swing my financial life in the right direction, beginning with retirement. Any clarification/insight you could give to me would be greatly appreciated 🙂 Thanks!

  3. Catey Hill July 31, 2010 at 3:57 pm #

    Hi Suzie! It’s true for men too (the study looked at men and women)!

Leave a Reply

